In Ohio, all employers with one or more employees must, by law, have workers' compensation coverage. Coverage for Ohio employers and their employees becomes effective when BWC receives a completed Application for Ohio Workers’ Compensation Coverage (U-3) and the $120 minimum, non-refundable application fee.
Independent contractors and subcontractors also must obtain coverage for their employees. If you do not have an existing policy with BWC and you are a new employer starting a business, or if you have acquired all of an existing business you must complete the Application for Ohio Workers’ Compensation Coverage (U-3).
Once you establish coverage you should create an e-account. With an e-account, you can report payroll and pay your premiums, access policy information and much more, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You may even be able to earn discounts by paying online and on time.
Your business can also receive a significant discount on workers’ comp costs at a critical time – while you’re getting started. To learn about the discount options, visit the Grow Ohio Incentive Program page.
As a new employer, you will also be responsible for selecting a Managed Care Organization (MCO). An MCO manages the medical portion of a claim to ensure injured workers receive the quality medical care they deserve. If you do not choose an MCO within 30 days, we may assign one.
Visit the Understanding Managed Care Organization page for additional information and to access the MCO Selection Form.