Web Content Viewer
Actions
Web Content Viewer
Actions
Maintaining a Policy
Ohio workers' compensation coverage begins when BWC receives your application for coverage, plus the $120 non-refundable application fee.

After receiving an employer's completed Application for Ohio Workers' Compensation Coverage (U-3) and $120 (minimum) non-refundable application fee, BWC processes the application and the employer's workers' compensation coverage begins. Refer to Applying for coverage for more information.

Once we process the application, we will:

  • Issue a Certificate of Ohio Workers' Compensation (also called a Certificate of Coverage) from the effective date of coverage through the end of the policy year. We mail that certificate to the employer.
    Refer to Posting a certificate of coverage for more information.
  • Establish an estimated annual premium for that policy year and send the employer an installment schedule for paying the premium. We must receive installment payments by the due date, or your coverage will lapse (end). 

Important: Failure to pay your first premium installment by the due date will result in your coverage lapsing back to the effective date of the policy. If one of your employees is injured during a lapse in coverage, we may charge you appropriate penalties. In addition, you're responsible for any claims costs and unpaid premiums. Your policy remains lapsed until you make your installment payment. Refer to Paying premiums for more information.

To view the coverage history of a policy, including the coverage effective date, any lapses in coverage and the current status of the policy, use the Coverage status history service offering.

Once your coverage begins, you can:

  • Set up an e-account to report payroll, pay premiums, access policy information and much more. You may even earn discounts by paying online and on time. Refer to Creating an employer e-account for more information.
  • After creating an e-account, enroll or subscribe to receive eNotices. When you Request eNotices, you can subscribe to our monthly newsletter, BWC eNews, and receive notice of your invoices electronically.
  • Submit your payroll true-up report yearly. Each year, BWC requires employers to reconcile the payroll amount used to estimate their premium with their actual payroll amount for the policy year. This process is called the payroll true-up or true-up reporting. Refer to Payroll true-up reports for more information.

An employer can use the information below to find more information about maintaining a policy.