Web Content Viewer
Actions
Web Content Viewer
Actions
Filing a claim
Ohio workers injured on the job can request wage replacement and medical benefits by filing a claim

Ohio workers who are injured on the job can request wage replacement and medical benefits by filing a workers’ compensation claim. Survivors of a worker who is deceased due to a job-related accident can also file a claim to request death benefits.

Who can file a claim?

The following people can file a workers’ compensation claim:

  • The doctor treating the injury;
  • The injured worker;
  • Any interested party, such as the employer or spouse.

 

How do you file a claim?

If the doctor treating the injury files a claim, he or she will submit it to the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation (BWC) or the Managed Care Organization (MCO) within 24 hours of the worker's doctor visit.

Once BWC receives the claim, the injured worker will receive a notification letter and a BWC ID card in the mail, usually within a few days of the filing.

Note: MCOs are companies that specialize in managing medical treatment for work-related injuries. A Managed Care Organization is not the same as the employer's health-insurance provider.

If the injured worker or another interested party files the claim, it can be submitted as follows:

Online: Complete the (FROI) First Report of Injury, Occupational Disease or Death form.

Form: Print the (FROI) First Report of Injury, Occupational Disease or Death form, complete the paper form and submit it to BWC by mail, fax to 1-866-336-8352, or in person at your local BWC Customer Service Office. Be aware that mailing a claim form can slow down the processing time when benefits might be received.

Phone: Call BWC at 1-800-644-6292 from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (EST) or a local BWC Customer Service Office. The Customer Service Representative (CSR) will ask the questions needed to complete the form and will submit the claim application.

Important: There is not a 24-hour time limit for this claim submittal as there is with the doctor’s claim submittal.

 

What are the time limits to file a claim?

The following are the time limits (statute of limitations) for filing a workers’ compensation claim in Ohio:

Injury or death due-to-injury claim – Occurring prior to 9/29/2017:

  • A claimant (who is not an emergency management worker or an emergency management worker’s dependent) must file a notice of injury or death with BWC or the Industrial Commission (IC) within two (2) years of the injury or death.
  • The statute of limitations applicable to an emergency management worker or an emergency management worker’s dependent is as provided below.

Injury or death due to injury claim – Occurring on or after 9/29/2017:

  • A claimant must file a notice of injury or death with BWC or the IC within one year of the injury or death.
  • The statute of limitations applicable to an emergency management worker or an emergency management worker’s dependent remains as provided below.

Occupational Disease or death-due-to-occupational-disease claim:

A claimant must file a notice of injury or death due to an occupational disease:

  • Within two years after death; or
  • Two years from the most recent of the following dates (all three dates must have occurred before the statute of limitation begins to run):
    • The date the employee first became aware, through medical diagnosis, that he or she is suffering from an occupational related disease; or
    • The date the employee first received medical treatment for such disease; or
    • The date the employee first quit work due to the disease; or
  • For a period beyond the two-year requirement, but within six months after the date of diagnosis of a disease as occupationally related by a licensed physician.

Emergency Management Worker:

A claimant that is an emergency management worker or the emergency management worker’s dependent must file a notice of injury or death with BWC or the IC:

  • Within one (1) year of the date of injury or death; or
  • If the emergency management worker filed an injury claim within one year of an injury, and the emergency management worker subsequently dies from that injury, within six (6) months after the date of death.