UPDATE! We are expanding the type of facilities eligible for our COVID-19 Indoor Air Quality Assistance Program. Also, we have extended the deadline to apply for reimbursement for eligible expenses to June 30, 2021, up from March 31. Updates to this webpage, FAQ, and application are pending. Please check back soon!
The COVID-19 Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) Assistance Program provides reimbursement for eligible applicants to help cover the costs of inspections, assessments, maintenance, and improvements to indoor heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems to control the spread of COVID-19. It also provides reimbursement for secondary devices designed to destroy bacteria, mold, and viruses.
Eligible employers include:
- Nursing homes licensed by the Ohio Department of Health (ODH).
- Assisted living/residential care facilities licensed by ODH.
- Adult day centers that are Medicaid providers in the PASSPORT, Ohio Home Care, or MyCare Ohio waiver programs.
- Adult day support providers that are a Medicaid provider and have submitted a Provider Assurance Form to the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD).
Eligible expenses are those incurred in response to COVID-19 for the previously mentioned purposes on or after March 1, 2020, or expenses to be incurred by June 30, 2021. The application form includes a list of eligible expenses.
The funds used in this program were awarded to the State of Ohio as federal financial assistance by the U.S. Department of Treasury. The funding comes from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES) Act. Eligible employers may receive up to $15,000 for the duration of the program.
Note: The deadline for employers to submit applications is June 30, 2021.
- Be a state-fund or self-insuring private employer
- Be one of the following:
- A nursing home licensed by ODH.
- An assisted living/residential care facility licensed by ODH.
- An adult day center that is a Medicaid provider in the PASSPORT, Ohio Home Care, or MyCare Ohio waiver programs.
- Adult day support providers that are Medicaid providers and have submitted a Provider Assurance Form to DODD.
- Individual employers are not limited to a single financial assistance award. Each nursing home with a separate ODH license is eligible, each assisted living facility with a separate ODH license is eligible, and each adult day center with a separate Medicaid certification is eligible.
How to complete an application
- Download the application.
- Complete all sections of the application, print it, and sign it.
- Email the signed application to email@example.com. Please keep a copy for your files. A completed application submission must include all of the following:
- Completed application form and signed agreement.
- Completed Appendix A – list of expenses.
- All required purchase documentation.
- A completed IRS W-9.
Information to have available while completing the application:
- BWC policy number.
- Ohio Department of Health license number.
- Medicaid provider number (if applicable).
- National provider identifier number.
- Invoices and proof of payment for expenses already incurred.
Receiving financial assistance funds
Eligible applicants may apply for financial assistance more than once; however, it cannot exceed the maximum total amount of $15,000.
Timeline for funds distribution
Please allow up to 15 business days for the application to be reviewed and funds distributed by electronic funds transfer. We will email the applicant with the results of our review.
NOTICE: Due to the large number of applications received for this program, processing times are taking longer than expected. We appreciate your patience as we process applications in the order they were received.
For general questions, contact BWC’s Division of Safety & Hygiene.