Ohio workers who are injured on the job can request wage replacement and medical benefits by filing a workers' compensation claim. Survivors of a worker who is deceased due to a job-related accident can also file a claim to request death benefits.
Who can file a claim?
- The doctor treating the injury
- The injured worker
- Any interested party, such as the employer or spouse
How do you file a claim?
If the doctor treating the injury files a claim, he or she will submit it to BWC or the managed care organization (MCO) within 24 hours of the worker's visit.
Note: MCOs are companies that specialize in managing medical treatment for work-related injuries. An MCO is not the same as the employer's health-insurance provider.
Once BWC receives the claim, the injured worker will receive a notification letter and a BWC ID card in the mail, usually within a few days of the filing.
If the injured worker or another interested party files the claim, they can submit in one of the following ways.
- Online: Complete the First Report of Injury, Occupational Disease or Death (FROI).
Mail or Fax: Print the (FROI), complete it, and then submit it to BWC by mail or fax to 1-866-336-8352. Be aware that mailing a claim form can slow down the processing time.
Phone: Call BWC at 1-800-644-6292 from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (EST) or a local BWC customer service office. The customer service representative will ask the questions needed to complete the form and will submit it.
Important: There is not a 24-hour time limit for a worker or third party as there is with a doctor to file the claim.
What are the time limits (statute of limitations) to file a claim?
Injury or death due to injury claim – Occurring prior to Sept. 29, 2017
- A claimant (who is not an emergency management worker or an emergency management worker's dependent) must file a notice of injury or death with BWC or the Ohio Industrial Commission (IC) within two years of the injury or death.
- The statute of limitations applicable to an emergency management worker or an emergency management worker's dependent is provided below.
Injury or death due to injury claim – Occurring on or after Sept. 29, 2017
- A claimant must file a notice of injury or death with BWC or the IC within one year of the injury or death.
Occupational disease or death due to occupational disease claim
A claimant must file a notice of injury or death due to an occupational disease:
- Within two years after death. OR
- Two years from the most recent of the following dates (all three dates must have occurred before the statute of limitation begins to run):
- The date the employee first became aware, through medical diagnosis, that he or she is suffering from an occupational related disease. OR
- The date the employee first received medical treatment for such disease. OR
- The date the employee first quit work due to the disease. OR
- For a period beyond the two-year requirement, but within six months after the date of diagnosis of a disease as occupationally related by a licensed physician.
Emergency management workers
A claimant who is an emergency management worker or the emergency management worker's dependent must file a notice of injury or death with BWC or the IC:
- Within one year of the date of injury or death. OR
- If the emergency management worker filed an injury claim within one year of an injury, and the emergency management worker subsequently dies from that injury, within six months after the date of death.